top of page

Borax, the magical crystal.

Borax, also known as sodium borate, sodium tetraborate, or disodium tetraborate, is an important boron compound, a mineral, and a salt of boric acid. Powdered borax is white, consisting of soft colorless crystals that dissolve easily in water. Commercially sold borax is partially dehydrated and is a household detergent used for everything from laundry to cleaning to odor control. Some countries may not be eligible for purchasing.

Many times as children, we were taught how to make crystals out of it, much to our delight. Even as adults its a magical process. Here is what to do and what you will need:

Supplies

Large pot to boil water

Objects such as shells, glass, pipe cleaners etc. I used wine bottles I acquired.

Large glass bowl to hold object in to saturate with the compound

Large Spoon

Dye

Instructions

Boil water, add Borax, stir until clear as it will be cloudy at first.

Add dye, I used two bottles of food dye but for a darker color, I would recommend a larger bottle.

Take hot water(NOT BOILING HOT) and add into glass bowl, next add your wine bottle .

Try to suspend the wine bottle by adding water into the wine bottle so that it floats instead of touching any parts of the glass bowl, if it touches, the compound will not stick to the wine bottle on that side.

Leave it alone for 24 hours without touching it, the crystals will begin to form as they cool.

Allow to dry (I used foil to avoid leakage), embellish with bling if you like. I will now use my upcycled wine bottles as hand and dish soap decanters.

Here is my link as an AA, if you wish to shop borax:

Watch my video on this process:

Until, next time!


bottom of page